West Ham get nightmare Europa Conference League play-off qualifier with long trip to Denmark or Faroe Islands


WEST HAM could face a nightmare journey to the Faroe Islands in the Europa Conference League play-off.

The Hammers were pitted against B37 Torshavn or Danish side Viborg FF in a baffling draw to book their spot in the group stages.

West Ham, who finished seventh in the Premier League last term, will find out their exact opponents on August 11 after the conclusion of the third qualifying round tie between Viborg and B36 Torshavn.

The home match at the London Stadium will take place on August 18 before a trip to either Denmark or the Faroe Islands on August 25.

The draw for the groups will be drawn on August 26.

After being found guilty of unsporting conduct during the Europa League semi-final second leg in Germany and receiving a one-match Uefa ban, David Moyes will miss the first leg.

The Scottish coach booted a ball at a ball-boy in the closing stages of their 1-0 defeat to Frankfurt, for which he was given a straight red card.

Skipper Declan Rice will miss both legs of the play-offs having been handed a two-match Uefa ban for abusing a referee in that semi-final in the tunnel at half-time.

After Aaron Cresswell was shown a 19th-minute red card, Rice shouted at ref Jesus Gil Manzano: “How can you be that bad, honestly? You’ve probably been f****** paid. F****** corruption.”

The first leg of the play-off comes three days before welcoming Brighton to the London Stadium in the Prem, and the second leg is three days before a trip to Aston Villa.

The final of this year’s Europa Conference League takes place in Prague with the winners handed a place in the following season’s Europa League.

Villarreal, Fiorentina, Nice, Anderlecht, Twente as well as Prague rivals Slavia and Sparta are among the other big names already eyeing glory next June.

The Irons enjoyed a stunning run to the Europa League semi-finals last season, losing to eventual winners Eintracht Frankfurt.

Roma are the inaugural Europa Conference League champions.

Jose Mourinho’s side saw off Vitesse, Bodo/Glimt, Leicester and then Feyenoord in the first edition of the tournament last season.

To Read Daily News, click here

About the author


Add Comment

By Patrick

Get in touch

Content and images available on this website is supplied by contributors. As such we do not hold or accept liability for the content, views or references used. For any complaints please contact babumanish.kuwar@gmail.com. Use of this website signifies your agreement to our terms of use. We do our best to ensure that all information on the Website is accurate. If you find any inaccurate information on the Website please us know by sending an email to babumanish.kuwar@gmail.com and we will correct it, where we agree, as soon as practicable. We do not accept liability for any user-generated or user submitted content – if there are any copyright violations please notify us at babumanish.kuwar@gmail.com – any media used will be removed providing proof of content ownership can be provided. For any DMCA requests under the digital millennium copyright act please contact babumanish.kuwar@gmail.com with the subject DMCA Request.
Contact us: babumanish.kuwar@gmail.com