God of War games in order: By release date and timeline


THE God of War franchise has become an institution in the gaming world since the first title release in 2005.

A number of successful sequels have followed, but what are they and what’s the timeline of the games?

God of War games release order

God of War (2005)

The first entry in the God of War series provided an introduction to hack-and-slash style of the gameplay, and strategy elements.

It also introduces the franchise’s tortured and complex protagonist, Kratos.

The PlayStation game is set in an alternate version of Ancient Greece and sees Kratos is tasked with finding Pandora’s box, the key to defeating the God of War, Ares.

God of War II (2007)

The second instalment carries on from the narrative of the first, but features marked improvements on the quality of the gameplay.

Kratos is now the God of War having defeated Ares.

God of War: Chains of Olympus (2008)

Chains of Olympus is a prequel to GoW I that initially came out on the PSP, and later on PS3 as part of the GoW: Origins Collection.

God of War III (2010)

The third game marked the end of the original trilogy, and offers a soul-searching end to Kratos’ journey.

God of War: Ghost of Sparta (2010)

This was the second GoW game on PSP, and was playable on PS3 the year following its release.

The story is set between the events of GoW I and II, see Kratos visiting the mythical underwater city of Atlantis.

God of War: Ascension (2013)

Ascension is the series’ seventh instalment and is the first chapter in Kratos’ story chronologically.

Read on to find out how to play the games in narrative order.

God of War (2018)

The 2018 God of War release is more character driven, and sees players controlling an older, reflective Kratos, trying to teach his son how to fend for himself.

It features all the recognisable combat and puzzles, but moves away from the Ancient Greek world to Norse mythology.

It was also the first game in the series to be ported on to PC and was said to take 43 hours for 100 per cent completion.

God of War: Ragnarok (expected 2022)

The next game in the series will see Kratos and his precocious son Atreus return.

It’s set to be released in 2022, but a specific date hasn’t yet been announced.

God of War timeline order

According to GuideFall, if you’re looking to experience Kratos’ story chronologically, you have to play the games out of sync from their release dates.

However, to do so, it will mean that you have to move between consoles, as two of the games are on portable devices.

They suggest the following order:

  1. Ascension
  2. Chains of Olympus
  3. God of War (2005)
  4. Ghost of Sparta
  5. God of War II
  6. God of War III
  7. God of War (2018)

The upcoming – but as yet unreleased – God of War title, Ragnarok, is recommended as the last one to play.

To Read Daily News, click here

About the author


Add Comment

By Patrick

Get in touch

Content and images available on this website is supplied by contributors. As such we do not hold or accept liability for the content, views or references used. For any complaints please contact babumanish.kuwar@gmail.com. Use of this website signifies your agreement to our terms of use. We do our best to ensure that all information on the Website is accurate. If you find any inaccurate information on the Website please us know by sending an email to babumanish.kuwar@gmail.com and we will correct it, where we agree, as soon as practicable. We do not accept liability for any user-generated or user submitted content – if there are any copyright violations please notify us at babumanish.kuwar@gmail.com – any media used will be removed providing proof of content ownership can be provided. For any DMCA requests under the digital millennium copyright act please contact babumanish.kuwar@gmail.com with the subject DMCA Request.
Contact us: babumanish.kuwar@gmail.com